AI Search & AEO · Listicle
AI Brand Monitoring for Ecommerce and DTC Brands (2026): Who Tracks Shopping Answers, Who Reads the Reviews, and What We Have Not Measured
When a shopper asks an assistant for the best espresso grinder under a price, the answer is assembled from review sites, forum threads and round-ups, and increasingly from a shopping module beside the text. Most AI visibility trackers were built for software buyers and measure the text. This list reads the field for the two things a product brand needs, shopping-surface tracking and review-source reading, prices each tool on the day, and is candid about the gap that runs through the whole category, including our own product: nobody publishes an ecommerce sample.
Key takeaways
- Shopping-surface tracking exists at two vendors on our list: Rankscale, across Google AI Mode, ChatGPT and Bing Copilot since April 2026 on its regular plans, and Profound, on Enterprise only. Everyone else measures the text answer.
- The pages that decide a product recommendation are review sites, forums and round-ups. Ahrefs Brand Radar treats Reddit results in Google and YouTube as channels; Linkeddit flags every cited domain as yours, a competitor's or neither; Brand24 listens across 25 million sources for mentions rather than answers.
- No vendor publishes an ecommerce benchmark with its sample, and neither do we: every Linkeddit number is from B2B software projects, and 19 of 310 onboarding respondents said ecommerce. This article prints our B2B citation data labelled as such and says what changes for a product brand.
- Claude coverage matters less for consumer buyers than for B2B, but it still splits the field: free on AthenaHQ, every plan on Rankscale, included on Linkeddit, add-on on Otterly, Enterprise only on Profound, Peec and Scrunch, absent on Brand24, Semrush, HubSpot and SE Ranking.
- Price per brand ranges from a $0 free plan (AthenaHQ, BrandPeek) through $29 (Otterly) and $99 (Rankscale, Semrush per domain, Linkeddit) to $250 (Scrunch) and $399 (Profound Growth), with shopping tracking sitting at $99 on Rankscale and Enterprise on Profound.
- Only one tool on the list carries a gap through a fix and a re-measurement: ours. For a product brand the fix is often on a page you do not own, and the citation list is what tells you which review page to take it to.
- Our own Search Console shows the demand this page is for: 'ai citation tracking for ecommerce and reviews', 53 impressions at position 41, landing on a blog listicle until now.
01The short answer
For a product brand that wants to know whether AI assistants recommend it, the shortlist is shorter than the category. Rankscale is the only regular-plan tracker that measures the shopping surfaces, across Google AI Mode, ChatGPT and Bing Copilot, on seventeen engines with Claude on every plan, at $99. Profound measures shopping visibility too, on Enterprise, at a price it does not print. Ahrefs Brand Radar is the one whose index treats the channels that feed consumer answers, Reddit threads in Google and YouTube videos, as first-class inputs. Brand24 is the listening tool for brands whose problem is mentions and sentiment rather than recommendations, with AI visibility as an add-on.
Linkeddit belongs on the list for a narrower reason: it measures the text answer on four engines, flags every cited domain as yours or a competitor’s so you can see which review page is speaking for you, and carries the gap through a fix and a re-measurement. It does not track shopping modules. And, like everyone else on the list, it cannot show you an ecommerce benchmark, because it does not have one. We would rather say that in the second paragraph than let you find out after a demo.
02What changes when the product is physical
The question names a product, a price and a use. A B2B buyer asks for the best tool for a job. A shopper asks for the best running shoe for wide feet under $150, or whether a named brand is worth it. Prompt sets built from software templates miss that shape. Whatever tool you pick, write the prompts the way a shopper types, with the constraint in the sentence, and approve the ones that carry impressions in your own Search Console.
The cited sources are review sites, forums and round-ups. On our own B2B run on 4 September 2026, Gemini cited reddit.com more than any other domain and ChatGPT cited g2.com; the engines went looking for third-party judgement before they read a brand page. For consumer products the equivalents are Trustpilot, Reddit, and the round-ups that rank ten products with a verdict. A tracker that only tells you whether you were named is telling you the score. One that tells you which domain was cited, and whether it is yours, is telling you where the work is.
The shopping module is a second answer. Google AI Mode, ChatGPT and Copilot increasingly show product cards beside or instead of a text recommendation, and a brand can be in one and not the other. Two vendors on our list measure that surface; the rest do not, and for a DTC brand that is the first column to read.
Marketplaces are a third answer, and nobody on this list measures them. A shopper who asks an assistant inside a retailer’s app, or who is handed an Amazon listing by a shopping module, is being recommended by a system none of these trackers query. We checked every vendor page for marketplace coverage and found none described; the shopping-surface tracking above is the closest anyone gets. Ask any vendor who claims otherwise to show you the run.
The fix is often not on your site. When the deciding page is a Trustpilot profile or a Reddit thread, the fix is a real review or a real answer through that site’s own process, plus the page on your site that should carry the rest. A tool that ends at the score leaves you guessing which. A tool that names the cited page and the closest page of your own does not.
03Nine tools on the ecommerce dimensions, read on the day
| Tool | Entry price, as printed | Tracks shopping surfaces? | Reads review sites and forums as sources? | Engines at entry | Claude | Ends in a fix? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rankscale | Pro $99 (1,200 credits); Essentials listed at $20 | Yes: Google AI Mode, ChatGPT, Bing Copilot, since April 2026 | Cited sources recorded per answer; page audits | Seventeen, per prompt | Every plan, 2 credits per query | No |
| Profound | $99/month billed yearly, ChatGPT only | Yes, on Enterprise: Shopping visibility for product discovery | Cited sources and Prompt Volumes on higher tiers | One at Starter; three at Growth $399 | Enterprise only | No |
| Ahrefs Brand Radar | Custom prompts $50 (2,500 checks) or index $199 | Not stated | Yes: Reddit results in Google and YouTube as channels; prompt index built from real queries | AI Overviews, AI Mode, ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Copilot | On the $199 index tier | No |
| Brand24 + AI Visibility | $99 add-on on a $199 to $599 plan | No | Listening across 25M sources for mentions and sentiment, separate from the AI answers | ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews, Gemini | No | No |
| Otterly | $29/month, 15 prompts | Not stated | Cited sources per answer | ChatGPT, AI Overviews, Perplexity, Copilot | Add-on $29 to $439 | No |
| Semrush AI Toolkit | $99/month per domain | Not stated | Cited sources; Semrush's own Trustpilot record is 2.4 per a third party we did not verify | ChatGPT Search, AI Mode, Gemini daily; Perplexity weekly | No | No |
| AthenaHQ | Free (300 credits); Starter $295 | Not stated | Cited sources per answer | Five incl. Claude free; ten on Starter | Free tier and up | No |
| SE Ranking | Core $129 or SE Visible $99 | Not stated | Cited sources per answer | AI Overviews, AI Mode, ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini | No; FAQ says coming | No |
| Linkeddit Answer Radar (us) | $99/month inside Compete | No | Every cited domain flagged yours, competitor's or neither; fan-out shows searches naming review sites; Compete brief mines Trustpilot, G2, Capterra, TrustRadius | ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude | Included | Yes: draft from recorded citations, source guard, human approval, re-measurement |
04Tool by tool, for a product brand
Rankscale. The one built with shopping in view: since April 2026 it tracks shopping results across Google AI Mode, ChatGPT and Bing Copilot, alongside visibility, position, sentiment and citations on seventeen engines with Claude on every plan, page audits for AI readiness, and the fan-out the engines ran. Its MCP page’s own example prompt is “Compare my shopping visibility this week versus last week.” The costs are a credit budget you have to forecast and a learning curve its agency reviewers name; a retail reviewer in our Rankscale review found bulk editing hard. Pro is $99 for 1,200 credits.
Profound. The reference product for the category, with Shopping visibility for product discovery among its Enterprise features, alongside Prompt Volumes, Agents and Agent Analytics that reads server logs for AI crawler visits. The catch for a DTC brand is the ladder: Starter is ChatGPT only at $99 billed yearly, Growth is three engines at $399, and Shopping, Claude, Gemini and the API are Enterprise at a price it does not print. The Profound pricing page has the per-prompt maths and the “more than three people means Enterprise” rule.
Ahrefs Brand Radar. Two indexes, per its own page: a prompt index built from real queries in the Ahrefs keyword database expanded into natural questions, and a checks product for your own prompts. For consumer brands the distinctive part is the channel list: Reddit results in Google and YouTube videos treated as sources that feed AI answers, with YouTube transcript tracking that an Ahrefs user in the review called a strength nobody else has. Claude sits on the $199 index tier. The index answers what people search, not what you ask.
Brand24 with the AI Visibility add-on. A listening tool first: social and web mentions across 25 million sources, sentiment, events and PR reports, which is a real job for a consumer brand. The AI visibility add-on is $99 on top of a $199 to $599 listening plan and covers ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews and Gemini, thirty prompts, no Claude. Our Brand24 comparison is about when the add-on is enough and when a dedicated tracker wins.
Otterly. The cheapest paid entry at $29 for fifteen prompts on ChatGPT, AI Overviews, Perplexity and Copilot, with AI Mode, Gemini and Claude as add-ons that set the real price. Fine for a small brand that wants to see whether it is named on the engines shoppers use most. Nothing shopping-specific on the pages we read.
Semrush AI Toolkit, AthenaHQ, SE Ranking. Three trackers built for software and SEO buyers that work for a product brand at the text-answer level. Semrush is $99 per domain on ChatGPT Search, AI Mode and Gemini daily with Perplexity weekly; AthenaHQ has a free tier with Claude and ten engines at $295; SE Ranking covers five engines inside an SEO platform at $99 to $129 with no Claude. None describes shopping tracking. The comparison hub prices six programme shapes on each.
Linkeddit. Ours. Four engines from one prompt set, presence and recommendation per engine with denominators, citation share with every domain flagged yours, a competitor’s or neither, the fan-out showing when an engine searched a review site by name, and the fix loop. The Compete brief, in the same plan, mines Trustpilot, G2, Capterra and TrustRadius for complaints about the brands you track. No shopping-surface tracking, no marketplace answers, no ecommerce benchmark yet; the ecommerce page says all three plainly.
05What we have measured, and what we have not
This section is ours and is labelled as such. On 4 September 2026 we ran our own Answer Radar project for linkeddit.com, 21 buying questions about competitive intelligence and AI visibility software, on ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini and Perplexity. That is a B2B sample. We print it here because the shape of the citation data is what a product brand should look for, and because nobody in this category prints theirs.
| Engine (admissible samples) | Most cited domains | Our own domain | Read for a product brand |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gemini (15) | reddit.com 5 of 105 citing samples; alpha-sense.com, autobound.ai, linkeddit.com, siftly.ai at 3 | 3 of 105, flagged is_customer | The forum led. For a consumer category expect Reddit threads here first. |
| ChatGPT (7) | cdn.featuredcustomers.com, g2.com, keeptabz.ai, outmano.com at 2 of 33 | Absent | A review site in the top four. For consumer products read Trustpilot and round-ups here. |
| Claude (10) | alhena.ai, g2.com, linkeddit.com at 2 of 35 | 2 of 35, flagged is_customer | Review site again. Claude searched once per prompt, close to the phrasing typed. |
| Perplexity (3) | linkeddit.com 2 of 29; aiclicks.io, aimultiple.com, airops.com, blog.hubspot.com at 1 | 2 of 29, flagged is_customer | Three samples; too few to read, printed for completeness. |
The fan-out from the same run makes the point about sources directly. Asked which competitive intelligence tools use Reddit and review-site data, Gemini searched “social listening sentiment analysis competitive intelligence reddit G2 Capterra” and ChatGPT searched “G2 reviews competitive intelligence software social listening Reddit”. The engines named the review sites in their own searches before reading a page. A product brand’s equivalent is an engine searching Trustpilot or a subreddit by name, and the fan-out view shows it when it happens.
“Read the flags before the shares. A review site at the top of your citation list is a page you cannot edit, and that changes what the fix is.”
06Which one, for which brand
A DTC brand whose products show up in shopping modules: Rankscale, the only regular-plan tracker measuring those surfaces, with the budget forecasting and learning curve priced in. Profound if the budget is Enterprise and you want the deepest competitor and prompt-volume data with it.
A brand whose category is decided on Reddit and YouTube: Ahrefs Brand Radar, whose index treats both as channels, on the $199 tier if Claude matters.
A brand whose problem is mentions and sentiment across the web: Brand24, with the AI visibility add-on if the recommendation question comes up, knowing it excludes Claude and covers thirty prompts.
A brand that wants to know which review page is speaking for it and then fix the gap: Linkeddit, at $99, with the honest caveats that we do not track shopping modules and have not yet published an ecommerce sample. The free gap analyzer runs you against one competitor on five shopper questions before you decide anything.
Find out which review page is speaking for your brand
07Frequently asked questions
Frequently asked questions
Which AI visibility tools track shopping answers?+
Two on our list, as of 4 September 2026: Rankscale, which since April 2026 tracks shopping results across Google AI Mode, ChatGPT and Bing Copilot on its regular plans, and Profound, whose Shopping visibility for product discovery is an Enterprise feature. Every other tracker measures the text answer, which for a product query includes the products named but not the shopping module that sits beside it.
What decides whether an AI engine recommends my product?+
The pages it reads. For product categories those are review sites, forum threads and editorial round-ups more than brand sites. On our own B2B run, Gemini cited reddit.com more than any other domain and ChatGPT cited g2.com; for consumer products the equivalents are Trustpilot, Reddit and round-ups. A tool that shows you which cited domain is speaking for you, and flags whether it is yours, is the one that tells you where the work is.
Is there an AI visibility benchmark for ecommerce?+
Not one we could find that publishes its sample, and we do not have one either. Every number Linkeddit publishes comes from B2B software projects; of the 310 people who named an industry during our onboarding, 19 said ecommerce. Vendors that sell to consumer brands publish case studies rather than data. This article says what changes for a product brand and prints our B2B citation data labelled as such.
Should an ecommerce brand use a social listening tool or an AI visibility tracker?+
Different jobs. Brand24 listens across social and web for mentions and sentiment, and sells AI visibility as a $99 add-on on a $199 to $599 plan covering ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews and Gemini. A dedicated tracker measures the buying questions on more engines and, in a few cases, the shopping surfaces. If your problem is what people say about you, listen. If it is whether the engine recommends you when a shopper asks, track.
Which of these tools cover Claude?+
AthenaHQ on its free tier, Rankscale on every plan, BrandPeek from $25, Linkeddit included; Otterly as an add-on from $29; Ahrefs Brand Radar on its $199 index tier. Profound, Peec and Scrunch cover Claude only on Enterprise. Brand24's add-on, Semrush's AI Toolkit, HubSpot AEO and SE Ranking do not cover it at any printed price. Consumer buyers use Claude less than B2B buyers do, so weigh this against your own traffic.
What does Linkeddit do for a product brand?+
The same measurement it does for software companies: your approved buying questions run on ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity and Claude, presence and recommendation per engine, every cited domain flagged as yours, a competitor's or neither, the searches each engine ran, and a fix loop that drafts from recorded evidence and re-measures. It does not track shopping modules or marketplaces. Its Compete brief mines Trustpilot, G2, Capterra and TrustRadius for complaints about the brands you track.
Related guides
- Answer Radar for ecommerce and DTC: what changes when the product is physical
- Rankscale review: seventeen engines, credits, and shopping tracking
- Ahrefs Brand Radar review: the index, YouTube and Reddit as channels
- Brand24 vs AI mention trackers: when the $99 add-on is enough
- AI visibility tools compared (2026): fourteen trackers in one matrix