AI Visibility · Tool Review
Ahrefs Brand Radar Review (2026): 462M Prompts, Two Products, and Who It Fits
Ahrefs Brand Radar is the AI visibility product with the biggest dataset in the category and the most confusing pricing, because it is two products sold under one name. Most reviews of it are written by a competitor or an Ahrefs affiliate. This one reads both Ahrefs pricing pages as they rendered on the day, separates the index from the prompt tracker, and reads what Ahrefs customers told Ahrefs about it in Ahrefs' own feedback thread.
Key takeaways
- Brand Radar is two products. The AI Visibility Index maps any brand across 462 million real prompts with no setup, from $199 a month standalone or with Ahrefs Lite and above. Custom Prompts track the questions you define, daily, included in every paid Ahrefs plan and sold separately from $50 a month.
- Verified 4 September 2026 on Ahrefs' pages: Lite $129 includes 5 custom prompts and 150 checks a month, Standard $249 includes 10 and 300, Advanced $449 includes 20 and 600. Standalone packages: $50 for 2,500 checks, $100 for 7,000, $250 for 25,000, overage $0.02 to $0.01 a check.
- A check is one prompt on one platform in one location. Fifty prompts daily on four engines is about 6,000 checks a month, which is the $100 Growth package plus overage or the $250 Scale package. Engine count multiplies the bill, as it does everywhere.
- Ahrefs customers in Ahrefs' own r/bigseo thread split cleanly: the index is a moat but not critical for most brands, YouTube transcript tracking is a strength nobody else has, the UI is too technical, and one team left for Peec because the data felt like rehashed keyword data.
- A Reddit roundup cites an accuracy audit finding a 97.5% undercount of ChatGPT mentions. We could not locate the audit. Ahrefs' own page explains the method: real search queries expanded into questions, not your prompts, which is a different thing from tracking your brand.
- Ahrefs lists an MCP Server among included features. Whether it exposes Brand Radar data is not stated.
- It measures and shows cited pages. It does not draft the fix against the cited evidence or re-measure to show the fix moved.
01What Brand Radar is: two products under one name
Ahrefs Brand Radar is Ahrefs’ AI visibility product, and the single most useful thing a buyer can know about it is that it is two different things. The Brand Radar page on 4 September 2026 says so in its own heading, “Track visibility two ways”, and then prices them separately.
The AI Visibility Index is a database. Ahrefs takes real queries from its keyword database, expands them into natural-language questions using People Also Ask and semantic fan-out, runs them through ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Copilot, Google AI Overviews and AI Mode, and stores the answers. The page puts the index at 462 million prompts. You type any brand, yours or a competitor’s, and see its visibility across that corpus instantly, with no setup and no waiting for data. Nothing else in the category has this, and it is why strategists and agencies doing market research reach for Brand Radar first.
Custom Prompts is a tracker. You define the questions your buyers ask, Brand Radar runs them daily across the platforms you choose, and records whether you are mentioned, what was cited, and how it moves. This is the product every other vendor in this category sells, and the page positions it for brands too niche to appear in the index or not yet well known. Brand Radar also tracks the social channels that feed AI answers, Reddit threads ranking in Google and YouTube videos, and an Ahrefs user in r/bigseo singled out that it reads YouTube transcripts rather than only descriptions.
Most reviews of Brand Radar blur the two, which is how you get one roundup calling it the cheapest option and another calling it an expensive add-on. Both are describing a real price. The rest of this review keeps them apart.
02Brand Radar pricing in September 2026, read on the day
We fetched ahrefs.com/brand-radar and ahrefs.com/pricing on 4 September 2026 through a paid proxy after the free fetcher timed out on both. The figures below are from those two pages. Where they seem to disagree with each other, it is because one describes the index and the other the prompt packages.
| What you are buying | Price as printed | What it includes | Where it is printed |
|---|---|---|---|
| AI Visibility Index, standalone | $199/month | 462M-prompt index across all platforms, Claude available; plus 83 custom prompts a day and 2,500 checks a month, overage $0.02 a check; custom refresh cadence; comes with an Ahrefs Free account | Brand Radar page and pricing page |
| AI Visibility Index, with an Ahrefs plan | Ahrefs Lite $129 and above | Index access with the plan | Brand Radar page: with Lite+ paid plans |
| Custom Prompts, with an Ahrefs plan | Included | Lite: 5 prompts, 150 checks a month. Standard $249: 10 and 300. Advanced $449: 20 and 600. Enterprise: from 83 and 2,500. All daily | Pricing page comparison table |
| Custom Prompts, Basic package | $50/month | 2,500 checks a month, overage $0.02; the page's example is 80 prompts daily on one platform | Pricing page |
| Custom Prompts, Growth package | $100/month | 7,000 checks a month, overage $0.015; example 100 prompts daily on two platforms | Pricing page |
| Custom Prompts, Scale package | $250/month | 25,000 checks a month, overage $0.01 | Pricing page |
| Custom Prompts, all models | $699/month | Printed on the Brand Radar page's pricing block next to the $50 starting price | Brand Radar page |
The pricing page answers the standalone question directly: “Yes, Brand Radar is available as a standalone tool. When you purchase it, you’ll also receive an Ahrefs Free account.” That is new relative to the beta, when a marketer quoted in HubSpot’s alternatives guide estimated the Ahrefs subscription plus AI monitoring add-ons his team needed at about $800 a month. Today a team that only wants prompt tracking can spend $50.
03Checks, priced out
Ahrefs meters custom prompts in checks: one prompt on one platform in one location is one check, and the packages bundle checks with overage billed at month end. The page’s own examples are 80 prompts daily on one platform for $50 and 100 prompts daily on two platforms for $100. Here is the same arithmetic for the programmes buyers actually run.
| Programme | Checks a month | Cheapest fit | Monthly cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| 20 prompts, 4 engines, daily | about 2,400 | Basic $50 (2,500 included) | $50 |
| 50 prompts, 4 engines, daily | about 6,000 | Growth $100 (7,000 included) | $100 |
| 50 prompts, 6 engines, daily | about 9,000 | Growth plus 2,000 overage at $0.015 | about $130 |
| 100 prompts, 6 engines, daily | about 18,000 | Scale $250 (25,000 included) | $250 |
| Included with Ahrefs Standard | 300 | 10 prompts on one engine daily | $0 beyond the $249 plan |
On the prompt tracker alone, Brand Radar is priced at the bottom of the category per query, below Rankscale’s credits and far below Otterly’s add-on engines. The catch is the other half of the table: what an Ahrefs plan includes is small. Standard’s 300 checks a month is ten prompts on one engine daily, a sample. Every Ahrefs customer who wants a real programme is buying a package on top, and the r/bigseo commenter who priced the beta at $800 a month was doing exactly that maths before the packages existed.
04What Brand Radar does well
The index is unique. No other vendor lets you type a competitor’s name and see its AI visibility across hundreds of millions of real prompts without configuring anything. An Ahrefs user in the r/bigseo thread put the fair version: “It’s true that a huge and unique database of AI chat responses by keywords is a moat.” For agencies pitching, analysts sizing a category, and anyone who wants to see the whole market rather than their own prompts, this is the reason to pay $199.
Real search demand behind the prompts. The Brand Radar page explains that prompts are expanded from actual queries in the keyword database, “not synthetic guesses”, and Ahrefs has since switched Brand Radar from Google search volume to AI-adjusted volume for prompt estimates, per an Ahrefs LinkedIn post surfaced in our search. Every other tracker asks you to invent the prompt set; Ahrefs starts from what people typed into Google. That is a different and defensible answer to the prompt blind-spot problem practitioners keep raising in r/aeo.
History. “Since brand radar sits on a load of data collected over the years I’m sticking with it,” another Ahrefs user wrote. “Others show methodology but they don’t have historical data for any kind of triangulation so their search volume is just what they think is the truth.” Brand Radar launched in 2024, so it has a longer series than most of the category.
YouTube transcripts and Reddit in Google. Tracking brand mentions inside video transcripts rather than descriptions, and Reddit threads as they rank in Google, covers the two sources our own runs and every study show engines leaning on. The r/bigseo commenter called the transcript feature “strong, because nobody does it”.
It is already in the tool you pay for. If you are an Ahrefs customer, Custom Prompts are included and the index is a click away. The marginal cost of a first look is nothing, which is more than any dedicated tool can say.
05Where Brand Radar falls short
The interface, by Ahrefs users’ own account. “The biggest gap for me is UX/UI. It looks too technical as for me,” in Ahrefs’ own feedback thread. Another regular: “I find your new product naming and rollouts to be a bit disjointed and confusing.” Brand Radar, Custom Prompts, the AI Visibility Index, Firehose and Letaido launched close together, and the two pricing pages describe the same product with different framings, which this review had to untangle.
The index is not your brand. The 462 million prompts are expansions of queries people typed into Google. If your category is niche, if your buyers ask questions Google never saw, or if you are not yet well known, the index has little to say about you, and Ahrefs’ own page says Custom Prompts exist for exactly that case. One agency lead in the thread concluded the index “is not that critical for many brands” because running your target prompts once in any tracker gives the same picture of winners.
“Rehashed keyword data.” The bluntest line in the thread, from an enterprise Ahrefs customer: “We ended up going with Peec.ai because Ahrefs Brand Radar data seemed like rehashed keyword data, curious if that’s improved a lot since its rollout.” That is the index’s method described as a weakness, and it is a fair reading for a team that wanted to track its own prompts.
Small included allowances. Five, ten and twenty custom prompts on the $129, $249 and $449 plans, at 150 to 600 checks a month, are samples. A real programme is a package on top.
It shows cited pages; it does not draft against them. Brand Radar reports which pages and domains get cited and where your content is or is not feeding AI responses. It does not name the specific cited page that put a competitor in a specific answer, draft the change against what that page said, and re-run the prompt to show whether it moved.
“We ended up going with Peec.ai because Ahrefs Brand Radar data seemed like rehashed keyword data, curious if that's improved a lot since its rollout.”
07What Ahrefs users said to Ahrefs, in r/bigseo
Brand Radar has no separate G2 listing; it is a feature of Ahrefs, which is rated as a suite. The best review base we found is unusual: Ahrefs’ own CMO posts a feedback thread in r/bigseo every year or two, and the 2026 edition asked directly “have you tried our Brand Radar tool? What do you think of it?” The replies are from paying customers talking to the vendor with the whole team reading.
The moat, qualified. The most upvoted substantive reply tested Brand Radar and gave three findings: the database is a moat but not critical for many brands, YouTube transcript tracking is a strength nobody else has, and the UI is too technical. It also asked Ahrefs to research how AI engines decide which URLs to cite, given “many spammy sites cited by non-Google LLMs”, which Glen Allsopp had separately analysed using Brand Radar data.
Stayed for the history, left for the method. One customer stays because of years of collected data no rival can triangulate against. Another, running enterprise accounts, left for Peec because the data felt rehashed from keywords. Both describe the same design decision from opposite ends.
Trust in the suite. Several replies were about Ahrefs generally rather than Brand Radar: traffic estimates feeling less accurate since core updates, Site Explorer never recovering from a Google change, and one agency owner writing that “these crawler driven SEO insight platforms need to once again prove that they are worth the subscription”. That is the context Brand Radar launches into: a customer base that trusts Ahrefs data and is watching it closely.
Elsewhere, two threads asked for first-hand Brand Radar experience in late 2025 and got none, and the question that ranks on Google for this tool, in r/seogrowth, has one reply from its own author asking for help. Practitioners are not yet arguing about Brand Radar the way they argue about Profound and Peec.
“A huge and unique database of AI chat responses by keywords is a moat, but for me it looks like it's not that critical for many brands. The biggest gap for me is UX/UI. It looks too technical.”
06The accuracy question
A roundup posted in r/Superframeworks in May 2026 claims that “a peer-published accuracy audit found Ahrefs Brand Radar reported 3 ChatGPT mentions globally when the actual count was 123, a 97.5% discrepancy”, and advises using Brand Radar as a low-fidelity sanity check on top of an existing Ahrefs plan. We searched for the underlying audit and could not locate it, so this is a claim relayed at one remove, from a post that goes on to recommend two other tools. Treat it accordingly.
What we can say from Ahrefs’ own page is why such a gap is possible in principle. The index counts mentions across prompts expanded from Google queries. If a brand is mentioned in answers to questions the index does not contain, the index will not see them, and a manual count on the brand’s own prompts will. That is not the index being wrong about what it measures; it is the index measuring a different thing from a brand-specific tracker. Ahrefs’ page says as much when it recommends Custom Prompts for niche brands.
The same caution applies to every vendor we have reviewed and to us. A visibility number is a sample of a prompt set on a set of engines on a day. A marketer in r/aeo said it better than any vendor will: “What they’re actually measuring is their own prompt deck against a model on a given day.” Brand Radar’s deck is the biggest and the least yours.
08API and MCP, checked against the page
The Ahrefs pricing page on 4 September 2026 lists an MCP Server among the features included with paid plans, and Ahrefs said in the r/bigseo thread that it has made its API “a lot more accessible” and released a free Domain Rating endpoint. Whether the MCP server exposes Brand Radar data, or only Site Explorer and Keywords Explorer, is not stated on the pages we read, and we did not test it. If pulling AI visibility into Claude or Cursor is the point, ask before you buy.
Ahrefs’ own agent direction is Letaido, described in the thread as its bet on AI agents, which is a separate product. For comparison, every Linkeddit capability, including the fix draft and the re-measurement, is an MCP tool over one URL on the $99 plan; the connector page lists them.
09What Brand Radar measures, and what no tracker can
Brand Radar’s two indexes measure two different things. The AI Visibility Index measures how often a brand appears in engine answers to a fixed corpus of search-derived prompts, which makes it comparable across brands, the thing no other tool can offer, and less specific to any one brand’s buyers. Custom Prompts measure your own set on your own engines daily, comparable with itself over time and with no other vendor’s, like every tracker. A review that ranks vendors by visibility scores is ranking prompt sets, and Brand Radar is the one vendor whose prompt set is not yours.
Three things no tracker can see. How many people asked: Brand Radar comes closest, because its prompts descend from measured search demand and it now applies AI-adjusted volume, and it is still an estimate. Whether an answer sent a visit: Ahrefs has Web Analytics and Bot Analytics in the suite, and a referrer is still a floor. Why the engine chose a source: cited pages and domains are shown; the reason is a hypothesis. We have written up the same limits for our own product in AI citation tracking.
One test we run on every vendor we review: is the vendor’s own domain in the answers about its own category? Across 220 completed answers in our Answer Radar runs, which include prompts about AI visibility tools, ahrefs.com was cited once, by Perplexity. For a domain of Ahrefs’ size that is a reminder of how narrow the citation layer is: engines cite roundups about tools, not the tools.
10Brand Radar vs Linkeddit Answer Radar
We sell a product in this category, so read this as a vendor’s comparison and check both pricing pages. The short version: Brand Radar has the index, the history and the cheapest per-check prompt tracking, inside a suite you may already pay for. Answer Radar is four engines at a fixed $99 with MCP on every tool, and it finishes the job Brand Radar hands back to you, with weekly competitor intelligence included.
| Ahrefs Brand Radar | Linkeddit Answer Radar | |
|---|---|---|
| Entry price, as printed | $50/month prompt package; $199 index; included with Ahrefs plans in small allowances | $99/month inside Compete |
| Any-brand visibility with no setup | Yes, 462M-prompt index | No |
| Engines | AI Overviews, AI Mode, ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Copilot; Claude on the index tier | ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude |
| Billing unit | Checks: one prompt, one platform, one location | Flat, credit allowance shown in app |
| Cheapest per query | $0.01 to $0.02 a check | Flat |
| Reddit and YouTube as sources | Reddit threads in Google, YouTube transcripts | Reddit via Compete's review and community mining |
| Historical series | Since 2024 | Since 2026 |
| Cited pages stored | Yes, cited pages and domains | Yes, fetched and kept per run |
| Gap ranked by intent and evidence strength | No | Yes |
| Fix drafted from the recorded citations only | No | Yes, unsupported claims rejected |
| Re-measured after the fix | Track over time | Yes, as an observed delta |
| MCP | MCP Server listed with plans; Brand Radar coverage not stated | Every tool, read and write, included |
| Weekly competitor intelligence brief | No | Included |
| Reviews | No separate listing; Ahrefs' own r/bigseo thread | Far fewer |
Pick Brand Radar if you already pay for Ahrefs and want a first look for nothing, if you need to see any brand’s AI visibility across the market without configuring prompts, if you value a two-year history and search-backed prompt demand, or if you want the cheapest per-check prompt tracking in the category and can live with a technical interface.
Pick Answer Radar if you want your own buyers’ prompts on four engines including Claude at a fixed $99, the data and the actions reachable from Claude or Cursor over MCP, the measurement to end in a drafted fix built from what the engines actually read and a re-measurement that says whether it moved, and weekly competitor intelligence on the same bill. Our Brand Radar alternatives guide covers the wider field.
11Verdict: is Ahrefs Brand Radar worth it?
Yes, twice over, for two different buyers. For any Ahrefs customer it is worth opening today, because Custom Prompts are included and the index is a click away. For a strategist, an agency pitching, or an analyst sizing a category, the $199 index is the only product in the market that shows any brand’s AI visibility across hundreds of millions of real prompts with no setup, and that is worth the price on its own.
Be careful as a brand-tracking tool. The index is not your prompts, its own customers describe the data as keyword-derived and the interface as too technical, the allowances inside Ahrefs plans are samples, and the accuracy claim circulating on Reddit, unverified as it is, describes a real difference between an index and a tracker. If your job is watching your own buyers’ questions and changing pages in response, several dedicated tools do that job more directly, including ours.
What we could not verify: the $699 all-models tier’s contents, the accuracy audit’s source, whether the MCP server exposes Brand Radar, and the beta-era $800 estimate, which HubSpot quotes from a marketer. We have said so where each comes up, and we have not read Ahrefs’ G2 reviews because there is no Brand Radar listing to read.
Your own prompts, four engines including Claude, MCP on every tool, the fix drafted and re-measured, for $99
Answer Radar asks ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini and Claude your buyers’ questions, stores every cited page and every fan-out search, ranks the gaps by evidence, drafts the fix from what the engines actually read, and re-measures. It is included with Compete at $99 a month alongside the weekly competitor brief.
12Frequently asked questions
Frequently asked questions
How much does Ahrefs Brand Radar cost?+
As read off ahrefs.com/brand-radar and ahrefs.com/pricing on 4 September 2026, Brand Radar is two things with two prices. The AI Visibility Index, which maps any brand across 462 million real prompts, is available with Ahrefs Lite and above and as a standalone from $199 a month, which also includes 83 custom prompts a day and 2,500 checks with overage at $0.02 a check. Custom Prompts, which track the questions you define daily, are included in every paid Ahrefs plan (5 prompts and 150 checks a month on Lite at $129, 10 and 300 on Standard at $249, 20 and 600 on Advanced at $449) and sold as standalone packages: Basic $50 a month for 2,500 checks, Growth $100 for 7,000, Scale $250 for 25,000. The Brand Radar page also prints $699 a month for all models on custom prompts.
Is Ahrefs Brand Radar worth it?+
If you already pay for Ahrefs, yes, because Custom Prompts are included and the marginal cost of a first look is zero. If you are choosing an AI visibility tool from scratch, it depends on which half you want. The 462-million-prompt index is unique in the category and lets you see any brand's visibility without setting anything up, which is worth $199 to a strategist doing market research. For tracking your own prompts daily across engines, several dedicated tools do the same job at similar prices with cleaner interfaces and, by Ahrefs users' own account in Ahrefs' feedback thread, less of a learning curve.
How does Ahrefs Brand Radar collect its data?+
Two indexes, per the Brand Radar page. The prompt-based index takes real queries from the Ahrefs keyword database, expands them into natural questions using People Also Ask and semantic fan-out, and runs them through ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Copilot, AI Overviews and AI Mode, so the visibility numbers reflect what people actually search rather than a synthetic prompt list. The search-query index tracks short queries that triggered an AI answer in Google. Brand Radar also tracks Reddit threads ranking in Google and YouTube, including mentions inside video transcripts, which one Ahrefs user in r/bigseo called a strong feature nobody else does.
Is Ahrefs Brand Radar accurate?+
Nobody outside Ahrefs can audit the index directly, and we have not. A roundup in r/Superframeworks cited a peer-published accuracy audit that found Brand Radar reporting 3 ChatGPT mentions for a brand when the author counted 123, a 97.5% gap; we could not locate the underlying audit and report the claim as a claim. Two Ahrefs customers in Ahrefs' own r/bigseo thread gave the two honest positions: one left for Peec because the data seemed like rehashed keyword data, another stays because Brand Radar sits on years of collected data while rivals show methodology but have no history for triangulation. Both are right about what they describe.
Which AI engines does Brand Radar track?+
The Brand Radar page lists AI Overviews, AI Mode, ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini and Copilot for the prompt index, with Claude available on the $199 index tier, plus Reddit results in Google and YouTube as social channels that influence AI answers. The custom prompt packages count checks per prompt per platform per location, so the number of engines you track multiplies your check usage.
Does Ahrefs have an MCP server?+
Yes. The Ahrefs pricing page on 4 September 2026 lists an MCP Server among the features included with paid plans. We did not test whether it exposes Brand Radar data specifically or only the SEO datasets, so ask before you assume you can pull AI visibility into Claude or Cursor through it.
What is the best alternative to Ahrefs Brand Radar?+
For tracking your own prompts with a cleaner interface, Peec AI at $80 a month annual on three models or Otterly at $29 on four engines. For a fixed $99 with four engines including Claude, MCP on every tool, and a fix drafted from the recorded citations and re-measured, plus weekly competitor intelligence, Linkeddit Answer Radar. Nothing replaces the 462-million-prompt index; if that is the feature you want, Brand Radar is the only place it exists.