AI Visibility · Comparison

Ahrefs Brand Radar vs Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit (2026): Checks vs Prompts, Two Indexes, and What Engines Say

The two SEO suites answered AI visibility the same way, an index built from real search data plus a tracker for your own prompts, and then priced them completely differently. Ahrefs meters checks and sells its index for $199; Semrush meters prompts and sells its toolkit for $99 a domain. This comparison reads both vendors' pricing pages and documentation on the day, separates each product into its two halves, and adds what four AI engines actually said about both brands on our own prompts.

By Linkeddit·Updated 4 September 2026·15 min read

Key takeaways

  • Both are two products. Ahrefs: an AI Visibility Index over 462M prompts, $199 standalone or with Lite and above, plus Custom Prompts metered in checks from $50 for 2,500. Semrush: a 317M-prompt AI Analysis index plus 25-prompt daily tracking, together for $99 a domain billed annually, read on 4 September 2026.
  • The unit is the comparison. Ahrefs: one check is one prompt on one platform in one location, $0.02 to $0.01. Semrush: prompts, 25 included, 50 more for $60, with the per-engine consumption rule unstated. Price your programme, not the headline.
  • Engines: Ahrefs lists six plus Claude on the index tier, plus Reddit-in-Google and YouTube transcripts. Semrush tracks three daily, adds Perplexity weekly, and has no Claude anywhere.
  • Both list an MCP server. Neither page says its AI visibility data is in it, and Semrush's standalone toolkit is not on the plans that include MCP.
  • Customers: Ahrefs' own r/bigseo thread calls the index a moat, the UI too technical, and the data rehashed keyword data. Semrush's G2 reviewers want AEO in the main platform and cheaper seats; Reddit calls its score a simulation of its own prompts.
  • Measured on our prompts, Semrush led every vendor on share of voice on all three usable engines; Ahrefs was second on Claude. Both brands are named often; semrush.com was cited twice and ahrefs.com once across 220 answers.
  • Neither drafts a fix against the recorded citations or re-measures to show it moved. Both show cited pages.

01The short answer

If you already pay for one suite, buy that suite’s AI product: Ahrefs customers get Custom Prompts included and the index for a click; Semrush customers get the toolkit as a $99 line or inside Semrush One. The switching cost is the whole suite, and neither toolkit is worth switching suites for on its own.

If you are choosing from scratch, Semrush is the cheaper first look at any brand’s visibility, $99 for the index and 25 prompts against $199 for Ahrefs’ index. Ahrefs is the cheaper way to track a real prompt programme daily, $50 for 2,500 checks, and the only one of the two that lists Claude. Both are measurement; the fix is yours to write.

02Pricing on the day: two products each

We read ahrefs.com/brand-radar and ahrefs.com/pricing through a paid proxy and semrush.com/pricing/ai/, semrush.com/pricing/ and Semrush’s Knowledge Base through the free fetcher, all on 4 September 2026. The full teardown of each is in the two reviews linked at the bottom; the table holds what you need to compare them.

What you are buyingAhrefs Brand RadarSemrush AI Visibility Toolkit
Any-brand indexAI Visibility Index, 462M prompts, $199/month standalone (incl. 83 custom prompts a day and 2,500 checks) or with Lite $129 and aboveAI Analysis reports over a 317M-prompt database, included in the $99 toolkit; 300 reports a day
Your own promptsCustom Prompts: included with plans (Lite 5 prompts/150 checks, Standard $249 10/300, Advanced $449 20/600); packages $50/2,500 checks, $100/7,000, $250/25,000Prompt Tracking: 25 prompts on the $99 toolkit; 50 more for $60; Semrush One Starter $199 has 50, Pro+ $299 has 100, Advanced $549 has 200
UnitCheck: one prompt, one platform, one location; $0.02 to $0.01Prompt; per-engine consumption unstated
Overage$0.02, $0.015, $0.01 per check by packageBuy the next 50-prompt pack
Extra brands or domainsNot priced per brand on the pages we read$99 per additional Brand Performance domain
SeatsAhrefs plan seatsEach toolkit user needs a $99 licence plus a $45 seat; no pooled limits
Free lookBrand Radar included with plans; no standalone trial statedFree AI Visibility Checker; no toolkit trial; Semrush One 7-day trial
Unexplained line$699 a month for all models on Custom PromptsSEO plan $139 now lists AI rows with no prompt count
$0.02
Per check on Ahrefs' $50 package
$3.96
Per prompt per month on Semrush's $99 toolkit, 25 prompts
$100
Difference between the two any-brand indexes at entry: $199 vs $99

03Checks vs prompts, priced out

The same programme costs very different amounts on the two meters, and the meters are the honest comparison. Ahrefs’ own examples are 80 prompts daily on one platform for $50 and 100 prompts daily on two platforms for $100. Semrush prints prompts and leaves the engine multiplier unstated, so the Semrush rows below assume one prompt is one prompt regardless of engines, which is the most favourable reading and should be confirmed.

Programme, dailyAhrefs checks a month and packageSemrush plan
25 prompts, 3 enginesabout 2,250; Basic $50$99 toolkit, 25 prompts, exactly at the cap
50 prompts, 4 enginesabout 6,000; Growth $100$99 toolkit plus one $60 pack: $159
100 prompts, 4 enginesabout 12,000; Growth plus overage, about $175, or Scale $250Semrush One Pro+ $299, or toolkit plus two packs $219
25 prompts, 3 engines, three brandsabout 6,750; Growth $100$99 plus $198 for two more domains: $297

Read the table and the headline flips. Semrush is cheaper for the first small programme and for market visibility; Ahrefs is cheaper for anything with more than 25 prompts or more than one brand, because checks scale linearly and Semrush’s domains and seats do not pool. The one caveat is the unstated Semrush multiplier: if a prompt on three engines consumes three of the 25, the Semrush rows roughly triple.

04Two indexes: 462 million vs 317 million prompts

Both vendors did the thing no dedicated tracker can: they built a corpus of prompts from search data and ran it through the engines, so you can type any brand and see its visibility without configuring anything. Ahrefs’ page puts its index at 462 million prompts, expanded from its keyword database with People Also Ask and semantic fan-out, run through ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Copilot, AI Overviews and AI Mode, with a second search-query index of short queries that triggered an AI answer in Google. Semrush’s Knowledge Base puts its database at over 317 million prompts and responses on ChatGPT, Gemini, AI Overviews and AI Mode across 117 regional databases, sourced from AI search clickstream data and Google’s AI Overviews keyword set, updated daily on a rolling basis, with responses captured from real requests and not via APIs.

Both then estimate demand. Ahrefs has switched Brand Radar to AI-adjusted volume per an Ahrefs LinkedIn post surfaced in our search. Semrush computes topic-level AI volume by combining third-party data on real AI interactions with its own models, and says plainly that individual prompts are too specific to measure directly. Both are estimates; both say so; both are more than any dedicated tracker offers.

The shared limit is the same one their own customers name: the index is not your brand. An Ahrefs customer in r/bigseo left for Peec because the data “seemed like rehashed keyword data”; a marketer in r/SEO said Semrush’s score is “based on its own generated prompts”. Both are describing the same design decision, and both vendors sell a prompt tracker for exactly that reason.

05Engines and surfaces

SurfaceAhrefs Brand RadarSemrush AI Visibility Toolkit
ChatGPTYesYes, ChatGPT Search, latest model in search mode
Google AI OverviewsYesYes, in the index; Prompt Tracking covers AI Mode
Google AI ModeYesYes
GeminiYesYes
PerplexityYesWeekly, in Brand Performance only
CopilotYesNo
ClaudeAvailable on the $199 index tierNo
Reddit and YouTubeReddit threads ranking in Google; YouTube transcriptsNo
CollectionNot stated on the pages we readReal requests, not APIs; Prompt Tracking via Position Tracking daily; desktop only

Ahrefs covers more surfaces, and the two it covers that Semrush does not, Claude and YouTube transcripts, are the ones its own customers single out. Semrush’s advantage is the pairing: the same Position Tracking campaign holds Google, Bing or Baidu next to ChatGPT, AI Mode or Gemini, which is the report SEO teams actually ask for.

06MCP, on both, with a catch each

Ahrefs’ pricing page lists an MCP Server among the features included with paid plans. Whether it exposes Brand Radar data or only Site Explorer and Keywords Explorer is not stated. Semrush’s Knowledge Base describes its MCP in detail: read-only, OAuth or API key, an official app in ChatGPT, Claude and Perplexity, 50,000 API units on Semrush One Starter and Pro+ and SEO Classic Pro and Guru, and a data list of keyword, organic and paid, competitive, traffic and backlink data. The AI Visibility Toolkit is not in that list, and the standalone $99 toolkit is not among the plans that include MCP.

So a buyer who wants AI visibility inside Claude or Cursor has the same question for both vendors, and neither page answers it. Ask. For comparison, every Linkeddit capability, including the fix draft and the re-measurement, is an MCP tool over one URL on the $99 plan; the connector page lists them and the playbooks are recorded.

07What their customers say

Neither product has its own review listing; both are rated as suites. Semrush: 4.4 out of 5 on 4,035 G2 reviews on 4 September 2026, listed as an Adobe company. Ahrefs’ suite listing was not fetched for this comparison. The product-specific voice is on Reddit, and it is unusually direct for both.

Ahrefs, from Ahrefs’ own CMO feedback thread in r/bigseo: the index is “a moat” but “not that critical for many brands”; YouTube transcript tracking is “strong, because nobody does it”; “the biggest gap for me is UX/UI. It looks too technical”; one enterprise customer “went with Peec.ai because Ahrefs Brand Radar data seemed like rehashed keyword data”; another stays because Brand Radar “sits on a load of data collected over the years”.

Semrush, from G2 reviews mentioning AI visibility: “we wish it were easier and less costly to add team members”; “they have their AEO abilities and AI searches separate from their main platform, but it goes back to pricing”; “AI features very restricted”. From Reddit: “SEMRush’s visibility tracking is based on its own generated prompts” in r/SEO; “just a simulation of queries and responses” in r/seogrowth; “not 100% convinced by the accuracy” in r/DigitalMarketing; and, in r/aeo, a B2B marketer who demoed both suites and found the prompt databases “heavily skewed toward B2C”.

Their prompt databases seem massive but heavily skewed toward B2C (especially e-commerce). They only demo-ed their LLM visibility feature on B2C queries even tho they know I'm in B2B.
via r/aeo, a B2B SaaS marketer after demos with Semrush, Ahrefs and Similarweb

08Measured: what four AI engines say about Ahrefs and Semrush

This section is ours and labelled as such. On 4 September 2026 we ran our own Answer Radar project for linkeddit.com, 21 approved buying questions about AI visibility and competitive intelligence tools, through ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini and Perplexity via their official APIs with grounded search. Ahrefs and Semrush are not our tracked competitors on that project, so what follows is what the engines volunteered about them. Per engine, admissible samples only, counts stated, per the methodology.

Engine (admissible samples)SemrushAhrefsRead
Claude (10)5.8% share of voice, 6 of 104 votes; sentiment 89% positive over 9 labelled mentions4.8% share of voice, 5 of 104 votes; sentiment 67% positive over 6Semrush first, Ahrefs second among all vendors
Gemini (15)8.3% share of voice, 13 of 156 votes; sentiment 61% positive over 184.5% share of voice, 7 of 156 votes; sentiment 50% positive over 8Semrush led every vendor on Gemini
ChatGPT (7)8.1% share of voice, 3 of 37 votes, tied first with CrayonNot in the top five vendorsAhrefs absent from ChatGPT's shortlists on our prompts
Perplexity (3)Not in the top five vendorsNot in the top five vendorsThree admissible samples; too few to read

Two more measurements. Across our full population of 220 completed answers about this category, semrush.com was cited twice, once by Gemini and once by ChatGPT, the latter pointing at a Semrush news release about its enterprise AI optimization product rather than at the toolkit; ahrefs.com was cited once, by Perplexity. Engines name Semrush and Ahrefs as brands far more often than they cite either company’s pages. And on the AI citation tracking question, ChatGPT’s fan-out searched for scholarly citation tools, OpenAlex, Semantic Scholar, Scite, before answering, which is a reminder that the phrase “AI citation tracking” is ambiguous to an engine and neither suite owns it.

09Matrix

Ahrefs Brand RadarSemrush AI Visibility ToolkitLinkeddit Answer Radar
Entry, as printed$50 prompt package; $199 index; included with plans$99 per domain, billed annually$99 inside Compete
Any-brand index462M prompts317M promptsNo
Demand estimateAI-adjusted volumeTopic-level AI volume, 15 countriesNo
UnitChecksPromptsFlat, credit allowance in app
Engines daily6, Claude on index tier3, Perplexity weekly, no Claude4 incl. Claude
Reddit and YouTube as sourcesYesNoReddit via Compete
Google vs AI in one campaignRank Tracker separateYesNo; GSC queries via MCP
AI crawler auditNoYes, 8 crawlers, llms.txt checkNo
Cited pages storedYesYes, Sources report with per-page suggestionsYes, fetched and kept
Fix drafted from recorded citations onlyNoNoYes, unsupported claims rejected
Re-measured after the fixTrack over timeTrack over timeYes, as an observed delta
MCPListed; Brand Radar coverage unstatedListed; toolkit data not listed; not on standalone toolkitEvery tool, read and write
ReviewsSuite; r/bigseo vendor threadSuite 4.4/5 on 4,035 G2Far fewer

10Verdict

Pick Ahrefs Brand Radar if you are an Ahrefs customer, if you want the biggest search-derived index and a two-year history, if Claude, Copilot, Reddit-in-Google or YouTube transcripts matter to you, or if you want the cheapest per-check prompt tracking in the category and can accept a technical interface.

Pick Semrush’s AI Visibility Toolkit if you are a Semrush customer, if you want the cheapest first look at any brand’s visibility, if Google-versus-AI in one campaign is the report you will use, or if the AI crawler audit and the free checker are worth having before spending anything.

Pick neither, or add ours, if your buyers ask Claude today, you want a fixed $99 with no per-domain or per-seat multiplier, MCP that carries actions as well as data, and the measurement to end in a fix drafted from what the engines actually read and a re-measurement that says whether it moved. That is Answer Radar, and it has no index; if the index is the point, buy a suite.

Your own prompts, four engines including Claude, the fix drafted and re-measured, for $99

Answer Radar asks ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini and Claude your buyers’ questions, stores every cited page and every fan-out search, ranks the gaps by evidence, drafts the fix from what the engines actually read, and re-measures. It produced the measured section above.

See how Answer Radar works

11Frequently asked questions

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper, Ahrefs Brand Radar or Semrush's AI Visibility Toolkit?+

It depends which half you buy. On 4 September 2026, Semrush's toolkit is $99 a month per domain, billed annually, for 25 prompts on ChatGPT, Google AI Mode and Gemini daily. Ahrefs sells two things: an AI Visibility Index at $199 a month standalone, or included with Ahrefs Lite and above, and Custom Prompts packages from $50 a month for 2,500 checks at $0.02 a check, where a check is one prompt on one platform in one location. For 25 prompts on three engines daily, Semrush is $99 and Ahrefs is about 2,250 checks, the $50 package. For any-brand market visibility, Ahrefs is $199 and Semrush's is inside the $99 toolkit.

What is the difference between a check and a prompt?+

Ahrefs meters checks: one prompt on one platform in one location is one check, so 50 prompts on four engines daily is about 6,000 checks a month. Semrush meters prompts: 25 prompts on the $99 plan, 50 more for $60, with Prompt Tracking campaigns set up per engine. Whether a Semrush prompt tracked on three engines consumes one or three of the 25 is not stated on the pages we read; ask. The unit decides the bill more than the headline price.

Which engines do they track?+

Ahrefs Brand Radar lists Google AI Overviews, AI Mode, ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini and Copilot, with Claude available on the $199 index tier, plus Reddit results in Google and YouTube transcripts. Semrush's Prompt Tracking covers ChatGPT Search, Google AI Mode and Gemini daily, Brand Performance adds Perplexity weekly, and its prompt database covers ChatGPT, Gemini, AI Overviews and AI Mode. Claude appears nowhere on Semrush's pages.

Do they have MCP servers?+

Both list one, with a catch each. Ahrefs lists an MCP Server among its plan features; whether it exposes Brand Radar data is not stated. Semrush's Knowledge Base article on its MCP lists keyword, organic and paid, competitive, traffic and backlink data, and not the AI Visibility Toolkit; the standalone $99 toolkit is not among the plans that include MCP at all. If AI visibility inside Claude or Cursor is the job, ask both before you buy.

Which do AI engines recommend?+

On our own 21 buying questions about AI visibility and competitive intelligence tools, measured 4 September 2026, Semrush had the largest share of voice of any vendor on all three usable engines: 5.8 percent on Claude, 8.3 percent on Gemini, 8.1 percent on ChatGPT. Ahrefs was second on Claude at 4.8 percent and 4.5 percent on Gemini. Semrush's sentiment ran 89 percent positive on Claude and 61 percent on Gemini. Across 220 answers in our wider population, semrush.com was cited twice and ahrefs.com once. Engines name both brands often and cite their own sites rarely.

Should I just pick the suite I already pay for?+

Usually, yes. Both toolkits are priced for existing customers, both include a first look for little or nothing, and the switching cost is the whole suite. Choose across suites only if the missing engine matters, Claude on Ahrefs' index tier and not on Semrush, or if you need the check-priced prompt tracking Ahrefs sells for $50 with no suite at all.