Video Editing

Video Editors With a Lifetime License: What Each One Covers (2026)

Every lifetime licence has fine print: which version, how many computers, which operating system, and what still costs extra. We read it on each vendor's own page so you can compare the licence, not just the price.

By Linkeddit·October 5, 2026·11 min read

Key takeaways

  • In most cases a lifetime video editor licence buys the version you paid for, on a set number of computers, not every future version. Filmora, Movavi and CyberLink say so in writing.
  • Apple is the exception: it says people who already own Final Cut Pro keep receiving updates, while reserving some premium content for its subscription.
  • Resolve Studio's page is silent on future versions. A Blackmagic product manager has said on its forum that one key allows two concurrent activations.
  • Extras often sit outside the licence: Movavi's paid Effects, PowerDirector's monthly content and AI credit allowance, Filmora's monthly AI credits.
  • Camtasia stopped selling perpetual licences with its 2025 version. Ask what happens if your vendor does the same.

1What does a lifetime video editor license actually include?

Usually the version you bought, forever, on a limited number of computers and one operating system. Rarely the next major version, and rarely the content packs or AI credits that subscribers get. “Lifetime”, “perpetual” and “one-time” mean the same thing in this market: you pay once and the software does not stop working when a payment lapses. TechSmith's own definition is the most honest one we found: a perpetual licence lets you use the software “for as long as the device's operating system remains compatible”, with updates and support “for a limited time” (TechSmith support, checked October 2026).

The pages that rank for this are vendor help articles, resellers, forums and listicles; none puts the terms side by side. Here they are, from each vendor's own page. We make Linkeddit Studio, the last row.

EditorOne-time price (USD)Versions coveredComputers and OSNot includedRefund
DaVinci Resolve Studio$295Product page does not sayTwo concurrent activations (Blackmagic forum); Mac, Windows, LinuxSome third-party licences, such as Dolby Vision trim controlsNot stated on the product page
Final Cut Pro$299.99Existing owners keep receiving updates (Apple FAQ)Mac only; number of Macs not stated on the pagePart of the premium contentNot stated on the page
Filmora Perpetual$79.99Updates within Filmora 16 onlyWindows or Mac licence, not transferable between themMonthly AI credits; 1,000 credits once30-day money-back, subject to policy
PowerDirector 2027$139.99The 2027 edition, no regular updatesNot stated on the pricing pageMonthly content and AI credit allowance30-day money-back, subject to policy
Movavi Video EditorNot quoted (store showed us CAD only)The version at purchase, no updatesOne computer at a time; transfer via supportPaid Effects and TemplatesNot checked
Linkeddit Studio (ours)$99 onceNo promise about future major versionsUp to 3 computers; Mac and WindowsNo credits; AI billed by your own providerLinkeddit's terms of service say all sales are final

“Not stated” means we looked and the page did not say: a question to ask before you pay.

2Which video editors still sell a lifetime license in 2026?

DaVinci Resolve Studio, Final Cut Pro, Filmora, PowerDirector and Movavi all sell a one-time licence on their own sites as of October 2026. Each one draws the line in a different place. The demand is real. An r/VideoEditing poster who had lost access to an old licence put it this way:

“I'd really like to buy software once, at a reasonable price, and actually own it.”
r/VideoEditing

DaVinci Resolve Studio ($295). Blackmagic's Resolve Studio page sells it outright with no subscription offered there. The free version edits up to 60 fps at up to 3840 x 2160; Studio adds up to 120 fps at 32K, the DaVinci AI Neural Engine and 45 extra Resolve FX. One r/videography reply called it “the literal best option to pay once, own forever” (2023). The honest cost is the learning curve: in an older thread, another user wrote that they find “the Resolve user interface counterintuitive and the learning curve steep.”

Final Cut Pro ($299.99, Mac). Apple's Final Cut Pro page sells the Apple Creator Studio subscription and says the Mac app is “also available as a one-time purchase”. Its FAQ is unusually direct about what owners keep (section 4).

Filmora Perpetual ($79.99). On Filmora's US store the Perpetual plan is a one-time payment for Windows or Mac, marked “Updates Within Filmora 16”. Its FAQ defines it as the right to use “a specific version of Filmora continually”.

PowerDirector 2027 ($139.99). CyberLink's pricing page labels it a perpetual licence: “One-Time Purchase, No Monthly Updates.” Each year gets a new numbered edition, and owners of the 2025 or 2026 edition get “a special upgrade price” to 2027.

Movavi Video Editor. Movavi's knowledge base describes the lifetime licence in plain terms: permanent access to “one specific version of the software”. Its store showed us prices in Canadian dollars only, so we do not quote a US price.

3Which video editors stopped selling a lifetime license?

TechSmith stopped selling perpetual licences for Camtasia with Camtasia 2025, and Apple now sells a subscription beside Final Cut Pro with some content kept for subscribers. TechSmith's transition notice says it is “transitioning to an annual subscription-only model, beginning with Snagit 2025 and Camtasia 2025”, planned for release on February 12, 2025, and that “all 2025 and later versions will be subscription licenses.” Customers with active maintenance were moved to what TechSmith now calls Legacy License Subscriptions.

Apple still sells Final Cut Pro once, but its bundle now gets content that buyers do not (section 6). A vendor can change what it sells next year, so what counts is what your licence already says about the copy you own.

4Does a lifetime license include future versions?

Usually not. Three of the five vendors say in writing that their one-time licence stops at the version you bought; Apple says the opposite; Blackmagic's page says nothing.

  • Filmora: “Perpetual plans include all updates to the current major version but don't include upgrades to future major versions”, with Filmora 15 to Filmora 16 given as an example of a major upgrade.
  • Movavi: the knowledge base says lifetime licences “do not include updates for the purchased version” and do not include upgrades to a new major version. The upgrade page adds that lifetime owners will “need to purchase the new version” to get any update. Owners of an earlier lifetime licence are offered a discounted subscription.
  • PowerDirector 2027: it “does not receive regular updates, new content after purchase, or subscriber-exclusive benefits.”
  • Final Cut Pro: the only vendor here that commits in writing; its FAQ tells existing owners that the app “will continue to be updated.”
  • DaVinci Resolve Studio: the product page does not say. One r/videography reply describes “lifetime free upgrades”, but we found no such promise on the page, so treat it as history rather than a term of sale.

Buyers notice when they miss this. In an r/VideoEditing thread about Movavi, one reply summed it up: “Lifetime is only for the version you bought from them.”

5Can you move a lifetime license to a new computer?

Usually, but the route varies: Movavi wants a support request, Filmora will not cross between Windows and Mac, and Resolve Studio allows two activations at a time. A February 2026 r/VideoEditing post titled a “Lifetime License Lie” came from a Movavi buyer whose laptop died and who could not activate on a desktop:

“So the 'lifetime' license they sell is actually just the lifetime of your computer.”
r/VideoEditing

The replies dispute it. A long-time Movavi user in the same thread wrote that “they lock your key on a device so if you want a transfer, you contact them so they get you a new key”, said they had moved through four PCs, and added that they would rather do that than pay a subscription. Movavi's knowledge base backs the second account: a licence is for one computer at a time, and to move it you contact Movavi to transfer it. Running it on several computers at once needs Shared Access or more licences.

Filmora's FAQ says its licences are “platform-specific” and cannot be transferred between platforms, so Windows to Mac means a new licence. It does not say how many computers a Perpetual key activates.

For Resolve Studio, a user in an older r/videography thread wrote that “your Resolve license is just linked to your email” and spoke of two seats. The firmer source is Blackmagic's own forum, where a reply signed by the DaVinci Resolve product manager (August 2024) said there is “no change to the two concurrent limit for activations from a single activation key.” That is a staff forum reply, not the product page.

6What does a lifetime license not cover?

Content libraries, AI credits and anything the vendor sells as a separate service. The editor is yours; the extras often are not.

  • Movavi: Effects are “not included in the Movavi Video Editor license by default”; paid transitions, titles, stickers and overlays need a separate Effects subscription, and Templates is another product again.
  • Filmora: Perpetual gets 1,000 AI credits once; Advanced gets 1,000 a month. Most AI features, speech-to-text included, are marked “Paid by AI Credits”.
  • PowerDirector 2027: no monthly content and no monthly AI credit allowance; it gets 500 credits once, valid for a year.
  • Final Cut Pro: Apple's FAQ says “access to some of the premium content is available only to Apple Creator Studio subscribers.”

Then there is the nag screen. A buyer in r/VideoEditing wrote that they “bought the lifetime license for the editor (I hate subscribtions) and when I decided to do some edits, Movavi hit me with this gem.” The pop-up would not dismiss; their later edit says Alt+F4 closed it and the editor worked again.

7Is a lifetime license cheaper than a subscription?

On list prices, a one-time licence usually pays for itself in under two and a half years, if you are content to stay on the version you bought for that long. Our arithmetic, from the prices checked in October 2026:

19 mo
Filmora Perpetual ($79.99) vs Basic at $49.99 a year
28 mo
Final Cut Pro ($299.99) vs Apple's subscription bundle at $129 a year
28 mo
PowerDirector 2027 ($139.99) vs PowerDirector 365 at $59.99 a year
None
Subscription offered beside Resolve Studio or Linkeddit Studio

Three years of Apple's subscription bundle on annual billing is $387, $87.01 more than Final Cut Pro once, though the bundle also includes Logic Pro, Pixelmator Pro, Motion and Compressor, so it is not a like-for-like price. CyberLink shows the PowerDirector 365 annual price as $59.99, marked down from $79.99, so at the full price the one-time edition wins sooner.

The catch is the version lock from section 4: PowerDirector numbers its editions by year, and Filmora's perpetual plan stops at Filmora 16. If you want every new feature as it ships, subscribe; if you want an editor that keeps doing what it does today, buy once.

8What should a lifetime license promise in writing?

Eight things, each in writing on a page you can save: version, updates, upgrade price, computers, operating systems, extras, AI billing and refunds. An r/videography thread that still ranks for this search, from 2021, opened with a buyer who had searched and found that “every single result either suggested ‘free’ software or subscriptions.” Our Descript alternatives guide has a shorter five-point list; this one adds the vendor wording that shows why each point matters:

  1. Which version? Filmora prints “Updates Within Filmora 16” on the plan; Movavi says “one specific version”.
  2. Updates within that version? Filmora includes them; Movavi's knowledge base says lifetime licences do not.
  3. Next major version? CyberLink names an upgrade price for recent owners; Movavi offers a discounted subscription.
  4. Moving computers? Movavi transfers by support request; Resolve allows two concurrent activations.
  5. Operating systems? Filmora licences do not cross between Windows and Mac.
  6. Sold separately? Movavi's paid Effects and Templates; PowerDirector's monthly content.
  7. AI billing? Filmora Perpetual gets 1,000 credits once; PowerDirector 2027 gets 500 that expire after a year.
  8. Refund window? Filmora and CyberLink state 30 days, subject to their policies; Linkeddit's terms of service say all sales are final.

9What does Linkeddit Studio's $99 lifetime license cover?

The Studio app for Mac and Windows on up to 3 computers, paid once, with no AI credits. We make it, so here it is against the same eight points, including the ones where others do better.

  1. Version: the pricing section says you own Studio for life. It makes no promise about future major versions, so we will not make one here.
  2. Updates and upgrade price: app updates download from a public GitHub releases repo. No upgrade price is published, and that is not the same as a written promise.
  3. Computers and OS: up to 3, Mac or Windows, and you free a slot yourself from the Devices page in your dashboard. The only licence call is activation on linkeddit.com.
  4. Extras and AI: no credits to buy. Claude Code or Codex runs in the agent panel on your own plan, keys for OpenAI, Groq, ElevenLabs or Google Gemini are billed to you by that provider, and captions come from Whisper running on your computer.
  5. Refunds: Linkeddit's terms of service say all sales are final, which is less than Filmora's or CyberLink's 30-day guarantee.

Exports are MP4 with no watermark and no resolution cap. It does not replace Resolve's grading or Final Cut Pro's depth, and it is new, with no track record yet at a major release. Captions are burned in, so there is no separate caption file. For the agent side, see can Claude edit videos.

Pay once, bring your own AI

Linkeddit Studio is a desktop editor for Mac and Windows where Claude Code or Codex edits your footage. One-time $99, up to 3 computers, no credits, and files stay on your disk.
See Linkeddit Studio

Frequently asked questions

Which video editors still sell a lifetime license?+

As of October 2026: DaVinci Resolve Studio ($295), Final Cut Pro for Mac ($299.99), Filmora Perpetual ($79.99), PowerDirector 2027 ($139.99) and Movavi Video Editor. Camtasia went subscription-only with its 2025 version.

Can I buy Filmora with a one-time payment?+

Yes. Filmora's store lists a Perpetual plan at US$79.99 as a one-time payment, for Windows or Mac. It covers updates within Filmora 16 only, the licence works on the platform you bought it for, and AI features draw on a one-off batch of 1,000 AI credits.

Is there a lifetime license for Movavi Video Editor?+

Yes. Movavi's knowledge base says a lifetime licence gives permanent access to the version you bought, without updates or new major versions, on one computer at a time. Moving it to another computer means contacting Movavi to transfer it.

Is Filmora's perpetual plan worth it?+

On price it beats the Basic plan ($49.99 a year) after about 19 months, but it stays on Filmora 16. Worth it if you are happy on one version for two years or more.

Does a lifetime license include future versions?+

Usually not. Filmora, Movavi and CyberLink say in writing that their one-time licences cover the version you bought. Apple says Final Cut Pro owners will continue to get updates. Blackmagic's Resolve Studio page does not say either way.

Is DaVinci Resolve still free, and is Studio a one-time purchase?+

Yes to both. Blackmagic's page lists a free version that edits up to 60 fps at up to 3840 x 2160, and Resolve Studio as a $295 purchase with no subscription offered on that page.

Is Final Cut Pro still a one-time purchase?+

Yes, for $299.99 on the Mac App Store. Apple also sells it inside Apple Creator Studio, a $12.99 a month or $129 a year bundle with Logic Pro, Pixelmator Pro and other apps, and keeps part of its premium content for that bundle.