Video Editing

CapCut Alternatives for Mac: macOS, Apple Silicon and Price (2026)

Every list of CapCut alternatives names the same apps. None tells you which macOS each one needs, whether it has an Apple silicon build, how big it is, or what its free tier holds back. We read each vendor's own page and wrote it down.

By Linkeddit·October 5, 2026·11 min read

Key takeaways

  • Free and, in our view, closest to CapCut: VN (macOS 13 or later). Free and already from Apple: iMovie, if your Mac runs a very recent macOS. Free and deepest: DaVinci Resolve, with a real learning curve.
  • Free, open source and built for Apple silicon: Shotcut (universal build) and Kdenlive (separate Silicon download). OpenShot's page lists only an Intel installer for macOS.
  • Final Cut Pro is not free: $299.99 once, or $12.99 a month through Apple Creator Studio after a 30-day trial. It needs macOS 15.6 or later.
  • If you want an AI agent to do the mechanical edits, Linkeddit Studio runs Claude Code or Codex on your Mac for $99 once. We make it, so the section on it says where it falls short.

1What is the best CapCut alternative for Mac?

It depends on how old your Mac is and how much you will pay. Recent Mac and no budget: iMovie or VN. Willing to learn: DaVinci Resolve. Ready to pay once: Final Cut Pro. Older Mac: Shotcut. The pages that rank for this query list tools without saying which ones will install on your Mac. Here is what each vendor states, read on its own page or App Store listing in October 2026, US prices:

EditorPricemacOS neededApple siliconSize
iMovieFreeListing conflicts: 26.6 or later, and 27 in the version notesNot stated3.6 GB
VNFree; VN Pro in-app at $6.99 or $49.9913.0 or laterNot stated1.4 GB
DaVinci ResolveFree; Studio $295Not on the pages we readStudio page: optimized for Apple SiliconNot stated
Final Cut Pro$299.99 once, or $12.99 a month15.6 or later, 8 GB memorySome features require it7.2 GB free disk
ShotcutFree, open source12 to 27Universal buildNot stated
KdenliveFree, open source13 (Ventura) or newerSeparate Silicon downloadNot stated
OpenShotFree, open sourceNot statedOnly an Intel (64-bit) installer listedNot stated
Linkeddit Studio (ours)$99 onceNot statedSeparate Apple silicon download148 MB download
CapCut, for referenceFree; in-app $7.99 to $19.99 a month10.14 or laterNot stated814.7 MB listing

Two notes on the table. CapCut's 814.7 MB is the size on its single App Store listing, which covers iPhone, iPad and Mac, so the Mac install may differ. Studio's 148 MB is the Apple silicon disk image for version 1.0.3, before the one-time download of its on-device caption model. We make Linkeddit Studio; it is in the table because it is a real option, and the section on it covers its limits.

2Is there a Mac version of CapCut?

Yes. CapCut's current version runs on Macs as old as macOS 10.14; of the alternatives that state a minimum, only Shotcut's older builds reach that far back. Its App Store listing says “Requires macOS 10.14 or later”, and the FAQ on its desktop editor page says the same. The same listing shows in-app subscriptions including Standard Monthly at $9.99, Pro Monthly at $19.99, another monthly line at $7.99 and a yearly line at $89.99 (checked October 2026). CapCut's own pricing page returned an error when we tried it, so those App Store figures are the ones we can stand behind.

So if CapCut installs and does what you need, compatibility is not the reason to leave. People leave for the reasons in the next section.

3Why are people leaving CapCut?

Features moving behind the paywall, ads, being asked to pay at the export step, and the content licence in its terms. In an r/VideoEditing thread about CapCut's last 18 months, a free user wrote:

“I started using CapCut free a month ago and there are filters/effects I've used that are now paid features”
r/VideoEditing

Under a popular “best free video editing software for Mac” video, a commenter described hitting the wall at the worst moment: “i tried cap cut but soon after creating / editing video when i tried to export it asked me to subscribe”. On the Mac specifically, a thread on r/SocialMediaMarketing asked for a free alternative, and two replies pointed at the experience rather than the price (the second went on to recommend a browser-based editor):

“Capcut recently got a lot of ADs, hence now I suggest 'VN'”
r/SocialMediaMarketing
“CapCut is fine, but on Mac it can feel a bit clunky once you're doing this daily.”
r/SocialMediaMarketing

The short version of the trust question: CapCut's terms give its operator a broad, perpetual licence over content you submit, treat that content as non-confidential, and its privacy policy describes uploading before you choose to post. That matters most for client footage you do not own. We quote the clauses word for word, US and international versions, in Is CapCut safe?, so we will not repeat them here.

4Which free CapCut alternatives run natively on Apple silicon?

Shotcut and Kdenlive say so on their download pages. iMovie and VN are on the Mac App Store, and DaVinci Resolve is free with limits. OpenShot lists only an Intel build. A YouTube commenter put the question every M-series owner has: “M1 MacBook Air run DVR okay?” For Resolve, Blackmagic's own pages do not give a direct answer, as the Resolve entry below explains. For the rest, here is what each download page or listing says.

  • iMovie. Free from Apple on the Mac App Store, 3.6 GB. Its compatibility line says “Requires macOS 26.6 or later”, while the notes for version 10.4.5 on the same listing say “Requires macOS Golden Gate 27 or later”. Either way, the current version needs a very recent macOS. An older version's notes on the listing mention Apple silicon optimization; the current notes do not. In our view it is the simplest option here, and one reply in the Mac thread summed it up: “iMovie works for very basic stuff.”
  • VN. Its Mac App Store listing says “Requires macOS 13.0 or later”, 1.4 GB, free with in-app purchases (VN Pro at $6.99 and $49.99, plus credit packs). VN's own site says it is free with no watermark and no ads. In our view it is the closest of the free apps here to CapCut's layout, and it is the one a CapCut thread reply above recommended.
  • DaVinci Resolve. Blackmagic Design says the free version “works with virtually all 8-bit video formats at up to 60fps in resolutions as high as Ultra HD 3840 x 2160”. The $295 Studio version adds 10-bit formats, magic mask and “accelerated H.264 and H.265 hardware decoding and encoding”, and calls itself “Fully optimized for Metal and Apple Silicon unified memory GPUs on a Mac”. What those pages and the update summary for the current 21.1.1 release (checked October 2026) do not say: whether the free version gets the same Apple silicon optimization, or what macOS version and memory a Mac needs. So we cannot tell you from Blackmagic how an M1 MacBook Air will cope. The catch is the learning curve, as the same Mac thread said: “Davinci is solid for Mac, but it has a steep learning curve.”
  • Shotcut. Free and open source. The download page lists “macOS 12 - 27” with a “macOS universal” build (current version 26.9.27). In our view it is the best pick for an older Mac: the page keeps version 24.11.17 for macOS 11 and 24.01.31 for macOS 10.14 and 10.15.
  • Kdenlive. Free and open source. Its download page offers separate Silicon and Intel downloads and says it “Requires macOS 13 (Ventura) or newer”.
  • OpenShot. Free and open source. The download page lists “macOS Intel (64-bit)” and no Apple silicon build. We did not test how it runs on an M-series Mac.

Shotcut, Kdenlive and OpenShot are capable timelines, but they feel like traditional editors, not like CapCut. Expect to build your own caption and template workflow rather than pick from a library.

5Is Final Cut Pro free for Mac?

No. It costs $299.99 as a one-time purchase, or $12.99 a month ($129 a year) as part of the Apple Creator Studio subscription, which has a 30-day free trial. Apple's Final Cut Pro page (checked October 2026) says: “You can try Apple Creator Studio free for 30 days.” Educator and student subscriptions are $2.99 a month or $29.99 a year. One trade-off of buying once: Apple says “access to some of the premium content is available only to Apple Creator Studio subscribers.” If you are weighing one-time against subscription across several editors, our guide to video editors with a lifetime license covers what each licence includes.

The Mac requirements, in Apple's words: “macOS 15.6 or later, 8GB of memory (16GB recommended), a Metal-capable graphics card (Intel-based Mac computers only), and 7.2GB of available disk space. Some features require a Mac with Apple silicon. Some features require internet access.”

For a CapCut user, the features that will feel familiar are automatic captions (“By analyzing spoken audio, Final Cut Pro creates captions”), Magnetic Mask to cut a person out of the background without a green screen, and the Magnetic Timeline, which keeps clips in sync as you move them. Apple also says you can import an iMovie project into Final Cut Pro, so starting in iMovie and moving up later does not waste your work.

6Is there a middle ground between iMovie and DaVinci Resolve?

Yes, and which one depends on whether you pay with money or with time. This YouTube comment is the question most CapCut leavers on a Mac end up asking:

“Imovie looks great but won't give me enough features, capcut is not in the conversation anymore and DR is not beginner friendly imho. Is there a middle ground editing program between capcut and dr?”
YouTube comment

Our honest answers, by what you have more of:

  • Money, not time: Final Cut Pro. It is the Mac-native step up from iMovie, takes iMovie projects, and has the captions and masking CapCut users reach for. Use the 30-day Creator Studio trial to find out before paying $299.99.
  • Neither: VN. Free on the Mac App Store, the most CapCut-like layout in our view, and enough for vertical clips with text and music.
  • Time, not money: Kdenlive or Shotcut. In our view they do more than iMovie and take less learning than Resolve. Both are free and offer Apple silicon builds.
  • Neither, and you already pay for Claude or ChatGPT: let an AI agent do the repetitive part of the edit. That is what we built Linkeddit Studio for, covered next.

7Can an AI agent edit your videos on a Mac?

Yes, for the mechanical work: cutting pauses and filler words, captioning, levelling audio, resizing for vertical. Not for the choices that make an edit good. We make Linkeddit Studio, so read this section as the vendor talking. Studio is a desktop editor for Mac and Windows. Claude Code or Codex runs in its agent panel on your own plan, and the agent can look at rendered frames and measure loudness, so it is not editing blind. Every agent edit can be undone, and a batch of edits is one undo step.

What it does that CapCut users will recognise: captions transcribed on your Mac with Whisper and burned in, in plain, highlight, pop, karaoke or box styles; removing filler words and tightening pauses from the transcript; 1080x1920 vertical projects; and MP4 export up to 2160p with no watermark and no resolution cap. Projects, media and keys stay on your disk, and it sends no telemetry. It costs $99 once for up to 3 computers, with no credits, because your AI provider bills you directly.

The limits, plainly. Captions are burned into the picture; Studio does not export subtitle files. Export is MP4 (H.264 and AAC) or audio-only, with no ProRes. Frames and transcripts the agent reads go to the AI provider you chose, under its terms. And an agent does not replace judgement. On an r/macapps launch thread for a different Mac AI-agent editor, a former professional editor replied:

“Seems like a lot of work on your part just to do less work though.”
r/macapps

That is a fair test. If describing the edit takes longer than doing it, do it by hand. Where agents earn their keep is the repetitive pass on every video: the same cleanup, captions and loudness target, checked by you before export. Our pillar guide, Can Claude edit videos?, covers what works and what breaks.

8How do you switch from CapCut to a Mac editor?

Keep your footage as plain files, rebuild one typical video in the new editor before you commit, and redo the parts CapCut handled for you: vertical frames, captions and export settings. Our suggested order:

  1. Copy your source clips, music and logos to a folder on your Mac, outside any app's library, so any editor can open them.
  2. Set the project to the shape you post. For TikTok, Reels and Shorts that is 9:16; the aspect ratio calculator gives exact pixel sizes.
  3. Rebuild captions and give them a proper-noun pass. As one r/VideoEditing reply put it, the hidden cost of auto-captions is “the cleanup tax when captions confidently butcher names and jargon”. The caption reading speed checker tells you whether viewers can keep up.
  4. Pick export settings once and save them as a preset. For YouTube, see the best export settings for YouTube.

Expect your first video to take longer than it did in CapCut. By the third, you will know whether the editor fits.

Let your own AI do the repetitive edits

Linkeddit Studio is a desktop editor for Mac and Windows where Claude Code or Codex edits your footage, with on-device captions, every edit undoable and files on your disk. Separate Apple silicon and Intel downloads. One-time $99, no credits.
See Linkeddit Studio

Frequently asked questions

Is there a Mac version of CapCut?+

Yes. CapCut's App Store listing and its desktop download page both say it needs macOS 10.14 or later (checked October 2026). The app is free to download, with in-app subscriptions listed from $7.99 to $19.99 a month.

What is the best free CapCut alternative for Mac?+

For most people, iMovie if your Mac runs a recent macOS, VN if you want what we think is the closest to CapCut's feel, and DaVinci Resolve if you will put in time to learn it. Shotcut and Kdenlive are free, open source and ship Apple silicon builds.

Is Final Cut Pro free for Mac?+

No. Apple sells it as a one-time purchase for $299.99, or inside the Apple Creator Studio subscription at $12.99 a month or $129 a year. Apple's page offers a 30-day free trial of Creator Studio (checked October 2026).

Does DaVinci Resolve cost anything on Mac?+

The free version costs nothing and, per Blackmagic Design, handles virtually all 8-bit formats at up to 60 fps in Ultra HD. DaVinci Resolve Studio is $295 and adds 10-bit formats, magic mask and hardware H.264 and H.265 decoding and encoding.

Which CapCut alternatives run natively on Apple silicon?+

Shotcut ships a macOS universal build, and Kdenlive and Linkeddit Studio offer separate Apple silicon downloads. OpenShot's download page lists only a macOS Intel (64-bit) installer.

Is iMovie enough to replace CapCut?+

For simple cuts, titles and music, often yes, and it is free from Apple. It is a 3.6 GB download, and the current version needs a very recent macOS, so check its listing before you plan around it.

Can I edit video on a Mac with Claude Code or Codex?+

Yes. Linkeddit Studio, which we make, runs Claude Code or Codex in an agent panel next to the timeline. Our pillar guide covers the other ways to do it.