Video Editing

Video Editing MCP Servers Compared (October 2026)

Every server below was checked on its own website or repository on October 4, 2026. Where a vendor does not say something, the table says “not stated” instead of guessing.

By Linkeddit·October 4, 2026·12 min read

Key takeaways

  • Video editing MCP servers come in three shapes: desktop editors that expose a timeline, cloud platform connectors (Riverside, OpusClip, Vyra), and a video generator (VEED MCP).
  • Desktop servers keep files on your computer and cost nothing beyond the editor they drive. Cloud connectors need an account on their platform and a subscription or credits.
  • Few vendors say whether the agent can measure audio. Vyra, Velorn and Linkeddit Studio say the agent can look at rendered frames.
  • Anthropic's docs say Claude's tool selection degrades past 30 to 50 tools, so the larger servers now hide most tools behind search or a dispatcher.
  • Disclosure: we make Linkeddit Studio. The table is alphabetical and our criteria are stated.

1What is a video editing MCP server?

It is the bridge that lets an AI client such as Claude Code, Codex, ChatGPT or Cursor operate a video editor or video service by calling tools instead of you clicking. MCP, the Model Context Protocol, is the standard those clients use to discover and call outside tools. Our guide to whether Claude can edit videos covers the bigger picture (ffmpeg, video as code, editors); this page compares only the MCP servers.

The pages ranking for “video editing MCP” today are directory listings and a 2025 write-up of one server. We compare the current options on five questions:

  1. Where do your files live? On your disk or in a vendor's cloud.
  2. What do you pay? Free, a one-off licence, a subscription, or credits per render.
  3. Which AI clients does the vendor name?
  4. Can the agent see frames or measure audio? Without this it edits blind.
  5. Can you undo what it did? An agent will make mistakes; reverting has to be cheap.

A few things we found are left out of the table. VEED's OpenEdit, which our pillar post covers, is an agent skill rather than an MCP server. Rendley's MCP page describes turning a recording into a finished video from Claude or ChatGPT, but does not state price or where files are processed, so we could not fill its row.

2Which video editing MCP servers exist in October 2026?

Nine, verified on their own pages: five that run on your computer beside an editor, three cloud platform connectors, and one video generator. Rows are alphabetical. Every cell comes from the vendor page or repository linked below (checked October 2026); “not stated” means the vendor does not say, not that the feature is missing. We make Linkeddit Studio, so read its row with that in mind.

ServerYour filesWhat you payClients the vendor namesSee frames / measure audioUndo
Adobe Premiere Pro MCP (community, MIT)Your computer, with PremiereFree; needs Premiere Pro 2020+Codex, Claude Code, Claude Desktop, Copilot in VS Code, other MCP clientsExports a still frame; audio not statedUndo, redo, multiple undo tools
DaVinci Resolve MCP (community, MIT)Your computer, with Resolve StudioFree; needs Resolve Studio for external scriptingClaude Desktop, Claude Code, Cursor, Codex CLI, VS Code, Zed and moreVisual analysis for vision clients; levels and silence via ffmpegNot stated; some actions offer dry runs
DaVinci Resolve Studio 21.1 (built in)Your computerStudio licence, $295 on Blackmagic's US siteClaude Code, Claude Desktop, Antigravity, Codex, Grok BuildNot statedNot stated
Linkeddit Studio (ours)Your computer$99 one-time, no creditsClaude Code and Codex in the app; Claude Desktop, Cursor, other MCP appsUp to 8 rendered frames; LUFS, peak, speech regionsEvery agent edit; a batch is one step; checkpoints
OpusClip MCPOpusClip cloud accountFree trial, then Pro with per-render-minute pricingClaude (Desktop, web, Code), ChatGPT, Cursor, VS CodeNot statedNot stated; nothing posts until you approve
Riverside MCPRiverside cloudGrow plan or higher ($34/mo billed annually, US site)Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor, Codex, Perplexity and othersNot statedEach agent edit is a new version; original kept
VEED MCP (generator)VEED cloud; returns an MP4 linkFree to integrate; needs VEED AI Playground creditsMake.com, Claude, ChatGPTNot statedNot stated
Velorn (GPL-3.0)Your computerFree; partner generation needs Comfy.org creditsCodex, Claude Code, Cursor-compatible tools, other MCP clientsReviews timeline frames; audio not statedTimeline edits; imports and exports not always
VyraVyra cloud; editor open in a browser tabMCP Starter $24/mo, MCP Pro $65/mo; free to startClaude Desktop, Claude Code, claude.ai, ChatGPT, Cursor, CodexCaptures frames; audio not statedNot stated

3Which video MCP servers keep your files on your computer?

The five desktop options do; the four platform connectors work on media you have uploaded to their cloud. This decides privacy, upload time, and whether you can keep editing by hand in software you own.

Desktop. Blackmagic's 21.1 feature list marks AI Assistants as “Requires an MCP-compatible AI assistant” and available in the desktop Studio version only. On the Blackmagic forum, a Blackmagic developer explained that File > Setup AI Assistants detects the supported AI apps already installed and configures them, and the configs users posted point to a ResolveMCP program inside the Resolve install folder. The community Resolve server drives Resolve through its official scripting API and notes that Resolve 21.1 moved Python scripting to Studio. The Premiere Pro server requires “Premiere Pro, the MCP client, and this package on the same computer”, and its README says anonymous usage telemetry is on by default with an opt-out. Velorn runs its MCP server on 127.0.0.1 inside its own Windows, macOS and Linux editor.

Cloud. Riverside's MCP page says recordings, transcripts and edits stay in Riverside. OpusClip's main tool clips “a video URL”, and work is “tied to your authenticated OpusClip account”. Vyra's page says the agent edits “what you uploaded” and needs a project open in a browser tab. VEED's server returns an MP4 URL.

Cloud is not automatically worse: Riverside records there anyway. But for client work or large footage, a desktop server avoids the upload. Local or cloud, a reply under the r/ClaudeAI launch post for Velorn, a desktop editor, named the other cost:

“The only thing about these platforms is that they lock you in.”
r/ClaudeAI

The developer's answer was an XML export into Premiere. Check how a project leaves any server; OpusClip, for one, lists a Premiere XML project file among its exports.

4How much does a video editing MCP server cost?

From nothing (open-source servers, if you already own the host app) to a monthly subscription or per-render pricing for cloud platforms. The AI client is usually a separate bill: your own Claude, ChatGPT or Codex plan. Prices below were read on vendors' US pages in October 2026.

  • Pay for the editor. DaVinci Resolve Studio lists at $295 on Blackmagic's US site; the free Resolve does not include AI Assistants. The two community servers are MIT-licensed and free, but the Resolve one needs Studio for external scripting and the Premiere one needs Premiere Pro. Linkeddit Studio is $99 one-time, with no credits.
  • Free and open source. Velorn is GPL-3.0. Editing and the MCP editorial tools work without ComfyUI; generation needs a local ComfyUI, and partner workflows “require the appropriate Comfy.org credentials and credits”.
  • Subscription. Riverside includes MCP on Grow and above at no extra cost; its pricing page lists Grow at $34 a month billed annually, and the help center notes that personal ChatGPT plans can only do read-only tasks. Vyra's MCP plans are $24 a month (up to 1440p) and $65 a month (up to 4K) when you bring your own AI, and it is free to start.
  • Credits or metered. OpusClip offers a free trial, then “a Pro plan for higher volume with metered, per-render-minute pricing”. VEED says its server is free to download and integrate, but generating video needs a VEED account and AI Playground credits.

A reply on the Velorn launch thread shows how much the licence question weighs. A DevOps engineer wrote that the free editor “stopped me from buying DaVinci Resolve just to have access to the MCP server.” Our reading: if you already own Resolve Studio or Premiere Pro, start with the server for the editor you know.

5Can the agent see the video and hear the audio?

Only through tools that turn the result into something it can read: rendered frames for picture, numbers for sound. Anthropic's vision docs list JPEG, PNG, GIF and WebP images as input, with animations reduced to their first frame (checked October 2026), so a server that only performs edits leaves the agent guessing whether they worked. A developer of a browser editor's MCP server described the failure on r/mcp:

“Every mutation came back success, which only meant the write landed.”
r/mcp

Their fix was a frame inspection tool, drawn by the same renderer as the export, whose description tells the model to look before saying it is done. Here is what each vendor states:

  • Vyra lists “Capture screenshots of the canvas at any timestamp” in its docs, and the agent reads transcripts and scene descriptions. Nothing about measuring loudness.
  • Velorn says agents can “review timeline frames and visible shots”. In the launch post its creator added that the agent “can't hear the music, but it reads the levels”.
  • The community Resolve server offers visual analysis that “works with any vision-capable MCP client” and, with ffmpeg installed, silence detection and level measurement.
  • The Premiere server has export_frame and capture_frame to write a still image.
  • Linkeddit Studio has a tool that renders up to 8 frames of the timeline exactly as the export will look, and a tool that measures a clip or track's loudness in LUFS, its peak and where people speak.
  • Resolve 21.1, Riverside, OpusClip and VEED do not state either on the pages we checked. OpusClip does return a transcript with per-word timing.

6Can you undo what the agent did?

In four of the nine, the vendor says so explicitly; for the rest, test it on a copy. Agents make plausible mistakes, so what matters is how cheaply you can roll one back.

  • Riverside: “Every edit lands in your Riverside project as an editable version, not a finished export.” Its help article adds that an agent edit opens a new edit rather than overwriting, so the original stays intact.
  • Velorn: normal timeline edits join the app's undo system and most write tools preview first, but imports, exports, generated files and project creation “are not universally undoable”.
  • Premiere Pro server: dedicated undo, redo and multiple_undo tools.
  • Linkeddit Studio: undo applies to the last change whoever made it, you or the agent; a batch of agent edits is one undo step; and the agent can save a named checkpoint before a large change.
  • Resolve 21.1, OpusClip, VEED and Vyra do not state undo behaviour on the pages we checked. The community Resolve server does not describe a general undo, though some actions offer dry runs and one known destructive grade copy is refused until the caller acknowledges it.

7Why can a video MCP server with 100+ tools backfire?

Every tool definition the client loads takes context, and past a few dozen tools the model gets worse at choosing the right one. Anthropic's tool search documentation says Claude's ability to pick the right tool degrades once more than 30 to 50 tools are available, and that a typical multi-server setup can use about 55,000 tokens of definitions before any work starts (checked October 2026). Under Velorn's launch post, which advertised 100+ tools, one reply said:

“100 tools in a single MCP is a tonne of context up front and the more tools per MCP the more the agent tends to misunderstand when and how to use them.”
r/ClaudeAI

A developer running more than 200 creative tools over MCP put the threshold lower on r/mcp: “Everyone hits the same wall somewhere around twenty tools, where the agent stops routing well and starts guessing.” That is one builder's experience, not a measurement.

Two things soften the problem today. Claude Code's MCP docs say tool search is on by default, so only tool names and server instructions load at the start and definitions arrive when needed. And the larger servers now shape their surface on purpose:

  • The community Resolve server ships a compound mode of 37 tools “to keep context usage low”, with a 389-tool granular mode for power users.
  • The Premiere server has 283 tools but advertises a small always-on set and puts the rest behind search_tools and invoke_tool.
  • OpusClip exposes 27 tools; Vyra says it has 50+.
  • Linkeddit Studio registers 30 tools. Timeline edits go through one edit tool that takes a command name, and another tool lists the commands on request, so each edit verb is not its own tool.

Our view: tool count is a design choice, not a score. When you trial a server, watch which tools the agent reaches for on a simple request. If it wanders, the surface is too wide for your client.

8Which video editing MCP server should you use?

Pick by where your footage already is and what you edit, then confirm the agent can see and undo its work. Our suggestions, from the facts above:

  • You already edit in DaVinci Resolve Studio: start with the built-in 21.1 server. Try the community server if you want ffmpeg-based level checks or a client Blackmagic does not list.
  • You already edit in Premiere Pro: the community Premiere server is the only one here that drives it.
  • You record podcasts or interviews in Riverside: its MCP edits where the recordings already live, and each agent edit is a new version.
  • You turn long videos into short clips: OpusClip is built for that job; budget for per-render-minute pricing after the trial.
  • You want a browser editor and a monthly plan: Vyra gives the agent frames and transcripts.
  • You want free and open source, with AI generation: Velorn, with ComfyUI for the generation side.
  • You need avatar videos made by an automation: VEED MCP generates them; it is not an editor.
  • You want a desktop editor with no credits that your own Claude Code or Codex runs: that is the job we built Linkeddit Studio for. We make it, so test it against the criteria above like any other row.

Our step-by-step Claude Code guide shows the general claude mcp add form and what to check after the first edit.

An MCP video editor on your own disk

Linkeddit Studio is a desktop editor for Mac and Windows. Claude Code or Codex edit the timeline from a panel inside the app, look at rendered frames and measure loudness, and every agent edit can be undone. One-time $99, no credits.
See Linkeddit Studio

Frequently asked questions

What is a video editing MCP server?+

A program that exposes a video editor or service to an AI client such as Claude Code, Codex, ChatGPT or Cursor through the Model Context Protocol, so the client calls tools (trim, caption, export) instead of you clicking. Some run beside a desktop editor; others connect to a cloud platform.

Does DaVinci Resolve have an MCP server?+

Yes. Blackmagic's DaVinci Resolve 21.1 feature list includes AI Assistants that require an MCP-compatible AI assistant, in the paid Studio version only. A Blackmagic developer listed Claude Code, Claude Desktop, Antigravity, Codex and Grok Build as supported. An open-source community server also needs Resolve Studio.

Is there a free video editing MCP server?+

The open-source ones are free: Velorn (GPL-3.0, its own desktop editor), the community DaVinci Resolve MCP and the community Premiere Pro MCP (both MIT). The last two still need the paid host app. Cloud connectors from OpusClip, Vyra and VEED start free or on a trial, then charge by subscription or credits.

Which video MCP server keeps files on my computer?+

The desktop ones: DaVinci Resolve 21.1, the community Resolve and Premiere servers, Velorn and Linkeddit Studio all edit projects on your machine. Riverside, OpusClip, Vyra and VEED work on media stored in their cloud accounts.

Can an MCP video editor see what it made?+

Only if the server gives it a way to look. Vyra, Velorn and Linkeddit Studio say the agent can view rendered frames, and the Premiere server can export a still. Most vendor pages say nothing about measuring loudness.

Is VEED OpenEdit an MCP server?+

No. VEED's help center describes OpenEdit as an agent skill. VEED's MCP server is a different product that generates avatar videos through its Fabric 1.0 model and needs VEED AI Playground credits.